Nerdy Knits

It’s a good time to be a nerd who knits.  So many awesome fan goodies to make!  I thought it would be fun to chronicle what I’ve made so far.  Most of them are listed on my Ravelry project page anyway, but I want to have them all separately in one place.  So, without further ado:

Harry_Potter_Wrist_Bands_medium2

Harry Potter Deathly Hallows Wristbands

I  knit these eons ago for Peep #1 who is a die-hard Harry Potter fan.  They were my first attempt at knitting intarsia and I was pretty pleased with the results, even if they were really big for his skinny little wrists.  The pattern is here.

wonderland_mitts1_medium2 wonderland_mitts_medium2

Immediately after seeing Tim Burton’s Alice in Wonderland remake, I went home and did a mad search for a pattern like the wristlets Alice wore as she tumbled down the rabbit hole.  Success!  I love Stephanie and Tiny Owl Knits; so many beautiful, magical creations– if you haven’t visited her site yet, I highly recommend it.

jayne2_medium

“Man walks down the street in a hat like that, people know he’s not afraid of anything.”

jayne_hat_1

Isn’t it cunning?

Firefly hat!  This is definitely my favorite nerdy knit to date.  I spent a lot of time trying to find the perfect yarn for this… I wanted it to be as close to the original Jayne hat as possible, and many of the versions I saw had colors that were too bright.  So after much agonizing I chose Mauch Chunky in Spice, Pumpkin, and Butterscotch.  Unfortunately it was MAD ITCHY, so I sewed in a nice fleece lining.  DH loves this hat and he gets a lot of compliments on it.  One of these days I need to make one for myself!

weasley_sweater_medium

Weasley Sweater

Another Harry Potter project.  I knit this Weasley Sweater for my nephew, who’s first name also begins with H!  Very happy with how it turned out.  Again, the colors were perfect, though they’re a little brighter in this photo than they actually are (I used Knit Picks Wool of the Andes in Cumin and Black Cherry Heather.)

woodin_back_medium2 woodin_front_medium2

I adore this little Woodin with a leaf tail.  Woodins are inspired by the cute forest spirits in Hayao Miyazaki’s anime.  His movie Totoro is one of my faves.  I actually have a knit Totoro in my Ravelry queue, but haven’t got around to making that yet.  Made this one though as a gift for Peep #2, but I think I loved it more. LOL

hpscarf1_medium2

Ravenclaw House Scarf

Perhaps I should confess that I am just as big a Harry Potter fan as the kids… if not more.  I loved all the books (and movies) and still re-read the books whenever I feel like spending more time in that universe. Since every time I take one of those online “Which Harry Potter House do you Belong In”-type quizzes, I get Ravenclaw, when it was time to knit a scarf for myself it had to be a Harry Potter House scarf in Ravenclaw colors (films, since I prefer grey and blue to blue and bronze).  I used an awesome merino called Valley Yarns Amherst in navy and light grey, that is super soft, not at all itchy, and because it’s knit in the round and blocked flat, is super squishy and warm to wear.  I had some yarn left over and made this “Ravencowl”, inspired by another Raveler.  Basically, I just knit four blocks of the scarf (alternating 2 blue, 2 grey) and seamed it together.

IMG_1576_medium

Ravencowl

I wear this all the time around the house.  It is SO warm and because it’s a cowl and not a scarf, it doesn’t get in the way when I’m doing things.

harry-hermione_hat_medium_medium

And finally, my most recent accomplishment– the Hermoine Hearts Ron Hat.  It’s a replica of the Hat Hermoine wore in the Halfblood Prince movie (above).  I used Manos del Uruguay Silk Blend but not in the same color as Hermoine’s.  I may do another in grey at some point.

hermoineronhat hermoineronhat1

To my delight a book actually exists called Knits for Nerds.  DH gave me a copy for Yule this year, so I have pages and pages of more geek knitting to look forward to.  What’s up next?  Perhaps a pair of furry knit Hobbit feet.

11135537

Happy Knitting!

3 thoughts on “Nerdy Knits

Leave a Reply

