The Flu Blues

The flu hit Firefly Farm last week.  Not sure if it was the dreaded H1N1 or not but I have a feeling it was because of the unusual way it presented:  For Peep #1, it was high fever, nasal congestion, and a cough; for Peep #2 the symptoms were high fever, achiness, and a bit of a cough.  For me, it was achiness, stomach upset, a very dry cough– but with NO FEVER.  Apparently that is not uncommon with Swine Flu, but it is unheard of in typical flu.  So I'm pretty confident that's what we had.  Regardless, I started us all on Oscilicoccinum at the start of symptoms.  Everyone one got two doses for two days, and I have to say I was amazed at the effect.  All of us experienced only one really bad day with it.  I also plied everyone with plenty of green tea and garlic, so I think that helped as well.

  I really believe in letting a fever burn out the virus, so I will let it go until it gets very high (over 103 is my marker).  At that point I will give acetaminophen or ibuprofen, but I am really loathe to do that.  For one thing, as I just mentioned– I want the fever to do it's job, but mostly it's all the extra CRAP they put in children's medications!  Red #40, sodium benzoate, ASPARTAME??  Yeah, here's the medicine to fix your main symptom, served up in a bunch of shiite that will poison the rest of you!    It is so typical of allopathic medicine I want to scream.  **deep breath**  At any rate… I am very glad to be on the mend and hopefully past this for the season.  Now we have a bit of catching up to do with school!

Leave a Reply

