Good Reviews for Our Brandy-New Co-op

So our homeschool Co-op is going really well.  I wasn't sure what to expect but so far we are having a blast.  Friday mornings we arrive at a few minutes before 10 a.m. (not a little slap dash of dress, let me tell you… we're so not good at having clothes ready, packing up lunches and assorted accoutrements the night before…why do that when you can you experience that searing adrenaline rush in the morning?) Anyway– they go into their first class:  Writing Workshop.  They are LOVING this.  I hope it keeps their creative juices flowing.  As I mentioned in a previous entry, we have struggled with writing, especially of the creative kind, so I am very happy.  After Writing Workshop Peep#1 goes into Chess, and Peep#2 into Fun with Fractions.  I sit in on that class so it's been interesting to see how she's progressing.  Peep #2 is actually quite good in math, but it doesn't come naturally;  she's not a "numbers" gal like Peep #1 (she gets that from me).  The mom teaching the class was actually a math teacher B.K. (Before Kids) so that is cool.  At noon we break for lunch, which as long as the weather holds we are enjoying outside on the picnic tables beside the playground.  The Peeps wolf down a quick bite and then it's off to climb or swing or play a game of kickball while I eat and chat with some of the other moms.  It's a good group.  I normally feel so out of place with other moms…. oh who am I kidding, I feel that way with everyone!… sigh… but I digress… These moms are awesome.  It's an eclectic bunch but similarities definitely outweigh the more obvious differences, and I really enjoy spending time with them. 

Sometimes we do Drama Games at 1p.m., and sometimes we just head home.  Last week was their once-a-month Monopoly and More class but that wasn't a big hit.  I don't think they'll do that one again next semester. 

So, we have dipped our toe into the Co-op pool so to speak, dabbling with a few classes; but I think next semester we will go whole-hog and sign up for as much as we can.  There are some really interesting offerings and I'm looking forward to seeing what will be available on the next go-round.  Pretty impressive for a Co-op in its infancy!

Leave a Reply

