Local Harvest

The house is filled with the scent of jasmine incense mingled with the rustic peach tart I made for dessert tonight.  Bliss!  The farmer's market is great this time of year, baskets spilling over with all kind of wonderful local fruit.  All summer I've experimented with trying to buy as much as possible locally… not only fruits and veggies but also cheese, meat, preserves, and raw milk.  Now, I'm hooked.  There's just no comparison in taste and quality.  Of course, it will be more challenging come winter, but I am committed to buying what we can.  There are several winter Farmer's Market's around and though the selection is much more limited, I think we will still be able to do pretty well!

Finished the last of the corn this week… it doesn't last long, but while we have it, it is sooooo good.  The beans are finishing up as well.  Tomatoes and peppers are still producing like mad, and the house is overflowing with zinnias and dahlias.  Oh!  And I found one lone, perfect, ripe strawberry in the strawberry patch yesterday!  Talk about a late bloomer!

Finally, the honey harvest will be happening some time this month.  I can't wait–  I probably have a least a hundred pounds out there!  I've been getting my honey locally from a friend for years, but this will be my first time harvesting from my own hive.  That is about as local as you can get. 

Leave a Reply

