Garden 2009

Meh.  Not a banner year in ye ol' garden…  summer started too late and some things fared better than others.  The peas and lettuce thrived, but my heat lovers (peppers, tomatoes, zucchini) have struggled.  I just harvest my first beefsteak tomato in mid August– practically a whole month later than usual.  They are coming in a nice steady flow now, though.  The peppers are finally coming in as well, and the string beans
are doing fabulously as usual.  My successes! 

Pumpkins tanked.  As did the zucchini.  Both got attacked by Squash Vine Borers that I neglected to stay on top of, so it's my own fault.  Out of about 7 great big Connecticut Field pumpkins I think only one has a good chance of surviving; the rest are on life support and their outlook is grim.  The butternut and acorn squash were attacked by some kind of worm– I think actually pickle worm, which normally doesn't make it this far north but– lucky me!– managed to this year.  The damage in not extensive, but I'm still not sure how they will fare.  Regardless, I doubt they will keep as long as I'd hoped with those little holes in them.

In the orchard, still no fruit!  I had hopes for the Gala apple tree, which actually did get some tiny fruit on it this year, but one day I went out to check on them and they'd all mysteriously disappeared.  I added a nectarine and new pear tree to the orchard this year.  Hope springs eternal…

On the other hand, the strawberries, raspberries and blueberries all produced rather well this year.

One other great success– garlic!  Of the 50 cloves I planted, I got 48 bulbs!!  Not too shabby, eh?  I cured them in one of the barns for a few weeks, cleaned them up, and now they are ready to use.  My hope is that they'll last through 'til next harvest. 

Part of the problem was the weather, true, but I also have to admit that I'm not as committed a gardener as I should be.  When the weather gets too hot, the last thing I want to do is be toiling in the heat and humidity.  I have no body fat.  That means that the temperature extremes (both freezing AND hot), cause me to retreat into Sloth Mode.  So probably just about the time I should be out there keeping on top of the bugs and weeds, I'm reading a book on the front porch.  But hey, that considered, I think I usually do pretty well in the garden.  And there's always next year to try again…

5 thoughts on “Garden 2009

  1. I would like to move south and have a year round growing season…im trying to figure out how i can bring my herbs inside so they dont die!

  2. It’s easy, though I’ve had mixed success!  Just dig up the herbs you want to bring in (I usually do this in late September or early October, depending how the overall weather pattern is– definitely before first frost though).  Make sure not to fertilize them for a few weeks beforehand.   Depending on the size of the plant, I might divide it and leave a small portion in the ground (I once had my Thyme last outside until December!).  I pot them up, leave them out for a few days to get acclimated, then start bringing them indoors at night– then after a few days bring them in permanently. I find mine do best in a cool spot that’s not too sunny… almost as if I’m artificially creating a winter in a warmer climate. :)  Rosemary, Thyme, Parsley and Cilantro consistently grow well this way.  Basil and other herbs I’ve found more challenging.  Some years they make it inside, others they don’t.   Good luck!

  3. lol well actually they are all in pots anyway, i didnt plant any in the ground…i have about 20 something pots on our porch lol. But ill try bringing them at night first…my rosemary is brown at the bottom leaves and all and is greener on the top…does this mean its waterlogged? ill trim a lot of my plants down before bringing them in and dry what i harvest.

  4. You are well on your way then!!  Yes, just start gradually bringing them in and they should do fine.  I agree, your Rosemary sound like it is either water-logged,  or, it could be pot-bound.  They get pot bound very easily!  I would gently pull it out of the pot and take a look… if it’s a mass of cramped and tangled roots, repot it in a slightly larger size.  I also put about an inch of small stones (like the ones you get at the hardware store) in the bottom of my rosemary plants– it helps them from getting water logged.  Planting them in a soil designed for cacti helps too.  HTH!!

Leave a Reply

