Props to the Peeps

Spring is coming… the tulips and daffodils are poking through the ground, the seedlings have been started in the greenhouse, and our chicks arrived this week.  They are sooo adorable, and so fragile!  We already lost one.  Apparently it’s not uncommon for chicks to die for no apparent reason, which is why I got more than I wanted (I figure 3-5 is good, so we got 6).  But it’s sad– I admit I was more unsettled by it than the Peeps.  I keep worrying that I did something wrong, even though I know that’s not the case.  Sigh…

On a cheerier note, they are providing us with hours of entertainment!  Peep #2 loves to hand feed them and the feel of their little beaks as they peck at her hand.  They are endlessly curious and any time a hand goes into the cage they come running to see what’s what.  Peep #1 on the other hand, ever the worrier, is afraid of accidentally hurting the chicks.  I’ve been encouraging him to hold them and help with the care and he’s growing more comfortable with them.  They both are doing great so far and I think it’s going to be a really positive experience for both kids.  I love watching my Peeps take care of the peeps!

Edited to add some photos:

chicks07c chicks070001

2 thoughts on “Props to the Peeps

  1. LOL!  They are, aren’t they?  We are getting so attached; I hope we don’t lose any more of the little ladies..

Leave a Reply

