Opera For Kids

Saturday we took the Peeps to see an operatic version of Little Red Riding Hood.  This is the second year we've gone– last year's was Billy Goat's Gruff.  The operas are put on by a local theatre group and so far have been very good!  It's a great introduction for the little ones into the opera.  They also learned terms like baratone, tenor, and even bravo! from the word find on back of the program… pretty cool!

In December we also took them to see a "regular" play- A Christmas Carol, which they both loved.  Peep #2 is particularly awed by the performance.  She watches, rapt, and I get a bigger kick out of watching her than the play!  I'd love to see if the local theatre is looking for child actors… I think it's something she'd enjoy tremendously.  It's something I'll have to investigate further.

Anyway, I wish there was more of this kind of thing around.  We are lucky to live in an area that does  have quite a bit of theatre (the same group that put on A Christmas Carol also puts on free "Shakespeare in the Park" performances every summer)… but still, I want more!  In the rush of schooling art and music (except for weekly piano lessons) often gets pushed aside when we are pressed for time.  So I feel a tad guilty about not spending as much time as I'd like on the arts.  Taking them to see these shows helps allevite the guilt a bit!

4 thoughts on “Opera For Kids

  1. [this is good] Sounds fun!  We do a fair amount of crafts, but we don’t do nearly as much music as I’d like.  There are some orchestra performances for kids around here, but I haven’t managed to go yet.  What kind of music was it? The kind of thing you expect to hear in an opera, or more kid-music?

  2. When we went last year for the first time I was surprised that it actually was opera music!  But the lyrics are fun and kid-oriented.  Both performances have been a blast.I’d highly recommend the orchestra if you have the opportunity near you, overall I’ve been very pleasantly surprised at how much the kids have enjoyed this kind of thing! 🙂

  3. That sounds fantastic!  We would love to see it.  My only experience of opera put me off.  I was about 15 years old and the seats were itchy and the show was in German (I don’t speak German!).  I could learn from this approach!!

  4. LOL!  Yes, to be honest, opera is not really my thing either!  But I am wondering if perhaps it’s because I wasn’t exposed to it until the teenage years.  I’m  hoping that by exposing these guys early, they might develop an appreciation for it– but only time will tell.  At any rate, even I enjoyed the kid’s versions!  (What does that say about ME? ;))

Leave a Reply

