A Gardener’s Bio

I first got the gardening bug about 4 years ago (2002).  At the time, we were living on a very small property (quarter of an acre) that had almost no place for a garden.  The back yard had a large overgrown wooded area and a very large in ground pool.  The front was too shaded and too close to the road to support a garden.  In frustration I built two small raised beds for vegetables in a sunny "nook" by the pool.  Surprisingly, it worked pretty well, but there just wasn't enough room to grow the amounts and varieties I wanted.

Then, in 2003 we purchased an antique house on over 2 acres.  Since then I have been in gardening heaven!  The house was built in 1789 and had many established but over grown plantings… including two 100+ year old Holly trees that soar over the house!  Although I put in a 20×20 vegetable garden the first year, we have spent most of our time reclaiming the property from vines and other overgrowth.  We’ve corralled raspberries into several "patches" and this fall planted several fruit trees to compliment the existing ones (which unfortunately are very old and not healthy) and hope to have it grow into our own mini-orchard.  I have a small herb garden outside of the kitchen, a good (and ever expanding) compost pile going, and a small flower garden that keeps me in fresh cut flowers from about March until October.

I’ve come a long way in 3 years but still have a lot I want to do and learn.  I’d love to expand the vegetable garden and, since I’ve been doing a lot of reading on sustainable agriculture, am toying with the idea of some chickens or other livestock.  We have a pen and and barn on the property so it’s feasible, but I am trying to pace myself.  As it is a friend of mine who is a bee keeper will be setting me up with a couple of hives in the spring.  I'll start there!

We have a small greenhouse attached to the house but I would love to get a good size one right near the vegetable garden in the back of the property.

I am also learning more about organic gardening.  Last year I decided to go organic and have learned so much from from the wonderful posters over at Garden Web  It should be the first place you look for gardening advice!

One thought on “A Gardener’s Bio

  1. Wow, that is a huge project.  I have a smaller property, but much bigger than my old house.  So far, I have not ventured too far into the garden … I want to though.
    And … not a homeschooling parent yet, but I hope to be in the FALL.  WE moved from the NJ to AR and I am not very pleased with the schools.  I have spent most of this school year researching.

Leave a Reply

