Small TV Rant

Someone said to me the other day (in a most superior tone) that she
"doesn't do TV" in her house. This statement, and the holier-than-thou
manner in which it is typically delivered, never ceases to raise my
hackles. I always want to say, when someone says that they don't watch
any T.V., that to me it's no different than if they'd said, "I don't
read any books." Let me explain why…

Now, there is no arguing that there exists a substantial amount of dren
on T.V. But to judge or discount the entire medium based solely on the
trash-T.V. shows is short-sighted. Look at it this way: the existence
of cheesy romance novels, dime-store crime books and junk
pop-psychology books does not preclude the existence of great
literature. To me it would be like picking up an aforementioned cheesy
romance novel, reading a few paragraphs, and then tossing the book over
your shoulder and declaring, "I don't read books" because they're all
junk.

There is GREAT T.V. out there. Compelling dramas,
informative documentaries and science programs, and yes, even the
occasional silly sitcom (what's wrong with a little junk-food for the
mind once in a while??).

So–
T.V. or not T.V. … that is the question… or rather, your personal
choice. But please, don't act like you're above the rest of us that can
take from television what is good, and leave the rest.

5 thoughts on “Small TV Rant

  1. [this is good] There is definitely some great TV and terrible books.  I do think that moderation, and some monitoring is key with television … just as “helping” your child find good books is important.

  2. I just don’t watch tv because I never had cable while I was growing up, so I hardly see the need for it now!Does that make me holier than thou?

  3. Not at all!  It’s a personal choice.  It’s the people who choose not to watch TV and then make others feel like intellectually unequals that irk me.  

  4. Amen to all your thoughts on that, I have to agree completely.  I don’t watch often (no soaps, no fear factor, etc) but those do-it-yourself shows, paranormal documentaries, and even the let’s-hear-about-the-goofy-lives-of-the-rich-and-what-i-should-be-wearing just draw me in.  They’re all so colorful.  And it’s never fun to be left out of conversations where everyone else has seen something and you haven’t.  

  5. Thanks!  It’s nice to know others are on the same wavelength. :) 

    Ne quid nimis as they say... moderation in all things... or most of 'em anyway!<p>I love Jasmine too.  I'm hoping to plant enough of it that the breeze will carry it inside on a warm day.  I can't wait for spring!

Leave a Reply

