An intro…

Welcome! I am Firefly, headmistress and senior faculty member of Three Circle Farm School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. . Erm, yeah… Harry Potter is big in our house! Peep #1 read ALL of the books last summer and has now talked me into doing the same. I love them so far!

Anyhow, for this first post I'll talk about homeschooling.  I started homeschooling the "peeps" (ages 8 and 6) in September of 2005 because we wanted to be able to let them move along at their own paces and be able to introduce them to subjects (French, Literature, Poetry, Latin, etc etc) that they wouldn't be getting in a school (at least not at their ages). We are ecclectic homeschoolers with a definite classical leaning. The first year after dabbling in a few unit studies we came across the curriculum/philosophy of teaching outlined by Charlotte Mason. We really enjoyed the CM method but as I was continuing my research on Charlotte Mason I discovered the Core Knowledge Series and ultimately The Well Trained Mind. We all LOVE WTM and plan to use this method exclusively for the 2006-2007 school year. In the end we might wind up with a sort of CM/WTM mix… and considering we also do "unschooling" activities in the afternoon, I think it's safe to classify us as Ecclectic Homeschoolers!

So that's our story. Welcome! I hope you will poke around and find something of interest.

Leave a Reply

